An Episcopal Center for Learning & Discipleship


Board of Directors

Jeffrey Queen

The Rev. Jeffrey Queen is a priest in the diocese of Southern Ohio. He earned a BA at Wilmington College in Religion and Philosophy and went on to further graduate study at Earlham School of Religion and United Theological Seminary, and received his certificate in Anglican Studies at Bexley Hall seminary, where he has served on the Bexley Board. He was the founding vicar of St. Mary Magdelene Episcopal Church in the diocese of Southern Ohio.

C. Davies Reed

The Rev. C. Davies Reed is rector of St. Francis in the Fields, in Zionsville, Indiana, where he was called in 2010. He was ordained a deacon and earned an MDiv from Seabury-Western in 2007. He is a graduate of Western Reserve Academy in Hudson, Ohio, and earned a BA degree in religion from Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Indiana.  He serves as co-president of the seminary's alumni association and joined the board of trustees in 2008.

Alan Scarfe

The Rt. Rev. Alan Scarfe is the 9th Bishop of the Diocese of Iowa. Prior to his election Bishop Scarfe served as rector of St. Barnabas' Episcopal Church in the Eagle Rock area of Los Angeles. Alan earned a Master of Arts in Theology degree from Oxford University, Oxford, England in 1972. From 1973 through 1975 he completed post-graduate studies at the Romanian Orthodox Institute in Bucharest, Romania. He is a 1986 graduate of The General Theological Seminary and was ordained to the priesthood in 1986.

Dan Shannon

Daniel W. Shannon, Ph.D is Dean of the William B. and Catherine V. Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies at the University of Chicago.  The Graham School provides adult access to the University of Chicago through degree and non-degree programs in the humanities, arts, and sciences as well as professions such as education, business, public health policy, technology, and publishing. Dan has a passion for Continuing Education and Lifelong Learning and has devoted his distinguished career to sharing his knowledge and wide experience in the field. He is an active member of Church of Our Saviour in Chicago where he has served as senior warden and on the search committee for the current rector. He and his wife are also active in the Church of the Atonement in Door County Wisconsin. He is married to Deb Hagman Shannon who is executive director of Chicago Childcare.

David Washington

The Honorable David Washington is a Federal Administrative Law Judge based in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  He hods a BA, an LLB and a JD degree from the University of Pittsburgh. He has been a lay representative for the Diocese of Minnesota since joining the board in 2009. He is a member of St. Philip and St. Thomas Episcopal Church St. Paul, Minnesota.

Cate Waynick

The Rt. Rev. Catherine Waynick is the Episcopal bishop of Indianapolis. She attended Central Michigan University from 1966-68, and earned a BA in Religious Studies from Madonna College in 1981. She attended St. John Provincial (RC) Seminary in Plymouth, Michigan, and was awarded the Master Divinity in 1985. She began work on a Doctor of Ministry degree at the Ecumenical Theological Seminary in Detroit, concentrating on the field of Spiritual Direction, and was named an honorary Doctor of Divinity in May of 1998 from The General Seminary in New York City.  She also serves on the Board of Bexley Hall Seminary.

Tom Breidenthal

The Rt. Rev. Thomas Breidenthal is the Episcopal Bishop of Southern Ohio, and has served as a member of the Bexley Hall Board of Trustees.  He is a member of Cincinnati Children's Hospital, a member of the Episcopal House of Bishops Theology Committee; and a board member of the Forward Movement, Bexley Hall Seminary, the National Association of Episcopal Schools, and Kenyon College.  He received his bachelor's degree from Portland State University, a master's degree in English literature from the University of Victoria in British Columbia, Canada, and a master of divinity degree from the Church Divinity School of the Pacific in Berkeley, California.  He earned a doctorate in theology from Oxford University.  Prior to his election as bishop of Southern Ohio, he was Dean of the Chapel at Princeton University.

Roger Ferlo

The Rev. Roger A. Ferlo is the president of the Bexley Hall Seabury Western Theological Seminary Federation and professor of biblical interpretation and the practice of ministry. He took up his duties on July 1, 2012.  Previously, he was the associate dean and director of the Institute of Christian Formation and Leadership at Virginia Theological Seminary, where he also served as professor of religion and culture.  He spent 19 years in parish ministry, serving in Georgia, Pennsylvania, and New York City.  He has 14 years of teaching experience at the university and seminary levels; 15 years of service on the board of the National Association of Episcopal Schools, including a term as president; and nine years of service on the board of trustees of his alma mater, Colgate University ('73, summa cum laude), where in 2010 he was awarded an honorary doctorate.

Ferlo holds a Ph.D. from Yale University ('79) and has authored and edited three books an numerous published essays, sermons and reflections.  He trained for the ministry at the General Theological Seminary in New York City.

Mark Hollingsworth

The Rt. Rev. Mark Hollingsworth is the Episcopal bishop of Ohio, and has served as a member of the Bexley Hall Board of Trustees.  He received a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1976 from Trinity College, majoring in Religious Studies, and earned a Master of Divinity degree a the Church Divinity School of the Pacific in 1981.  He was founder of Epiphany at Sea, a program taking inner-city middle school students to sea on traditional fishing schooners, and he was a conference leader for CREDO.  He currently serves on the DREDO Advisory Board and as trustee for the Church Divinity School of the Pacific, the Episcopal Preaching Foundation, the Ocean Classroom Foundation, Kenyon College, and Bexley Hall.

Jeffrey Lee

The Rt. Rev. Jeffrey Lee leads 40,000 Episcopalians in 124 congregations across Northern Illinois. A charismatic preacher, liturgist and spiritual leader, he is committed to helping the congregations of the diocese grow the church, form the faithful, and change the world. Bishop Lee is the twelfth bishop of Chicago, a position he has held since 2008. He is the author of Opening the Prayer Book in the New Church's Teaching Series; a member of the faculty of CREDO Institute; and has served on the boards of the North American Association of the Diaconate, the Council of Associated Parishes, and Affirming Catholicism. Bishop Lee is a graduate of the University of Michigan and Nashotah House Seminary and served as a curate, canon to the ordinary and church developer in the Diocese of Northern Indiana and rector of churches in Wisconsin and Washington before being elected bishop. He was a deputy to the 2000 and 2006 General Conventions, and in 2008 became an associate of the Society of St. John the Evangelist.